Student Life


Opportunity are not limited to the classroom setting at Southern Regional Technical College. Students can enjoy the experience of college life through the many student organizations and clubs. These activities open the door to leadership opportunities at not only the local level, but perhaps the state and national level as well.


Student Government Association (SGA)

The purpose of the Student Government Association (SGA), as stated in its constitution is to:

  1. Contribute to and promote the ideals, objectives, and goals of Southern Regional Technical College (SRTC);
  2. Promote school pride, community awareness, and citizenship;
  3. Improve student morale;
  4. Provide a forum for students’ expressions; and
  5. Develop leadership skills.

The SGA membership is a broad representation of students from all programs of study. Membership consists of two representatives from each of the TCSG state recognized student organizations on each campus (Phi Beta Lambda, SkillsUSA, and National Technical Honor Society); and one representative on each campus from each of the four vocational program areas.

For more information about SGA please contact the following advisors:
Asha Ranson-Dillard, Thomasville Campus at 229-227-3076 or adillard@southernregional.edu
Adriane Thomas, Moultrie Campus at 229-217-4224 or Athomas@southernregional.edu
Eric Roney, Tifton Campus at 229-391-2600 or eroney@southernregional.edu


National Technical Honor Society (NTHS)

The local chapter of the National Technical Honor Society (NTHS) was established in 1985. As a national organization, NTHS has as its purpose:

  1. To reward excellence in workforce education;
  2. To encourage scholastic excellence, skill development, honesty, service, leadership, citizenship, and individual responsibility.
  3. To promote business and industry's critical workplace values.

To be eligible for membership into NTHS, a student must:

  • Have successfully completed one full semester of attendance at Southern Regional Technical College (SRTC) with a minimum of 12 semester hours.
  • Have a GPA of 3.0 with a minimum of 6 credit hours for the semester in which he/she is nominated and a cumulative GPA of 3.0.
  • Have an instructor nomination.

Benefits of Membership Include:

  • Certificate of membership
  • Membership card and pin
  • Seal indicating membership on diploma or completion document
  • Three letters of recommendation sent upon request to any business, industry, or educational institution.
  • Eligibility for NTHS scholarships.

NTHS is open to every student at SRTC. The requirements for membership must be maintained through graduation to remain eligible.

For more information about NTHS please contact the following advisors:
Carolyn Jones, Moultrie Campus at 229-217-4179 or cjones@southernregional.edu
Denik Revels, Moultrie Campus at 229-217-4199 or drevels@southernregional.edu
Karen Murray, Thomasville Campus at 229-227-2542 or kmurray@southernregional.edu
Andy Semones, Thomasville Campus at 229-225-3932 or csemones@southernregional.edu
Tiffany Powell, Tifton Campus at 229-391-2535 or tpowell@southernregional.edu


PHI BETA LAMBDA (PBL)

The purpose of Phi Beta Lambda (PBL) is to provide opportunities for college students to develop vocational competencies for business and office occupations. PBL is an integral part of the instructional program, and in addition promotes a sense of civic and personal responsibility. PBL is a non-profit educational association made up of students pursuing careers in all areas.

The specific goals of PBL are to:

  1. Develop competent, aggressive business leadership.
  2. Strengthen the confidence of students in themselves and their work.
  3. Create more interest in and understanding of American business enterprise.
  4. Encourage members in the development of individual projects which contribute to the improvement of home, business, and community.
  5. Encourage and practice efficient money management.
  6. Encourage scholarship and promote college loyalty.
  7. Assist students in the establishment of occupational goals.
  8. Facilitate the transition from school to work

For more information about PBL please contact the following advisors:
Neil Clements, Thomasville Campus at 229-225-5087 or nclements@southernregional.edu
Ann Young, Moultrie Campus at 229-217-4197or ayoung@southernregional.edu
Susan Davis, Tifton Campus at 229-391-2648 or sdavis@southernregional.edu


Skills USA

As a national organization, SkillsUSA has as its purpose:

  1. To unite in a common bond all students enrolled in trade, industrial, technical, and health education.
  2. To develop leadership abilities through participation in educational, vocational, civic, recreational, and social activities.
  3. To foster a deep respect for the DIGNITY OF WORK.
  4. To assist students in establishing realistic vocational goals.
  5. To help students attain a purposeful life.
  6. To create enthusiasm for learning.
  7. To promote high standards in trade ethics, workmanship, scholarship, and safety.
  8. To create among students, faculty members, patrons of the College, and persons in business and labor a sincere interest and esteem for trade, industrial, technical, and health education.
  9. To develop patriotism through a knowledge of our Nation’s heritage and the practice of DEMOCRACY.

For more information about SkillsUSA please contact the following advisors:
Cora Walden, Thomasville Campus at 229-225-5004 or cwalden@southernregional.edu
Ken Robison, Moultrie IDC at 229-217-4153 or krobison@southernregional.edu
Tim Morton, Moultrie IDC at 229-217-4169 or tmorton@southernregional.edu
Tammy Barnes, Tifton Campus at 229-391-2631 or tbarnes@southernregional.edu
Brad Simmons, Tifton Campus at 229-391-2634 or bsimmons@southernregional.edu


Other Student Activities

SRTC offers additional opportunities to get involved! Involvement in these organizations is an excellent opportunity for networking and teambuilding interaction amongst faculty, staff, & students.

Inkwell Literary Magazine
The Inkwell Literary Magazine is a student run and student organized scholarly production for Southern Regional Technical College. It is comprised of works that are contributed by students, faculty, staff, and the community of the College. The works are poetry, short stories, essays, both fiction and non-fiction works, one-act plays, fine arts such as photography, paintings, and sculpture, and any other mediums that can be considered part of the humanities. All works are copyrighted under the College and Library of Congress. This is the first scholarly publication for the College and its first publication was fall 2013. Issues are twice a year in the fall and spring. Students come and workshop and serve as the editors and the editing staff for the magazine. The magazine also supports and sponsors poetry readings in the community. The advisors for the magazine are Dr. Jay Snodgrass and Maria Studebaker-Coppage.

For more information about the Inkwell Literary Magazine please contact Dr. Jay Snodgrass at 229-225-3993 jsnodgrass@southernregional.edu.

Electronics & Amateur Radio Club
The Electronics and Amateur Radio Club (ARC) is established to promote a better understanding of Amateur Radio Operators and students enrolled at Southern regional Technical College. The club’s purposes are to increase the knowledge both from an operating and theoretical standpoint, and to further the technical knowledge of the club through the presentations; to promote interest in amateur radios and Electronics; and to organize an active, reliable group of Amateur Radio Operators to handle communications during such emergencies as may disrupt other lines of communications.

For more information about Electronics & Amateur Radio Club please contact Andy Clark at 229-217-4173 aclark@southernregional.edu.

GANS

The Georgia Association of Nursing Students (GANS) is a pre-professional organization that aims to support pre-nursing and nursing students throughout the state as they work towards becoming a Registered Nurse. As a constituent of the National Student Nurses Association (NSNA), GANS is committed to aiding in the personal and professional development of future nurses through education and leadership promotion. Through various efforts, GANS provides a resource for students to join together and participate in activities involving community health, legislation efforts, and improving the image of nursing.

For more information about GANS, please contact:
Theresa Corker, Thomasville Campus at 229-227-2459 or tcorker@southernregional.edu
Bobbie Hester, Tifton Campus at 229-391-2652 or bhester@southernregional.edu

Vet Tech Club
The Veterinary Technology Club at SRTC strives to promote our profession, perform works of service to the community, and raise money for club activities. We, the instructors, believe this also instills in the students the importance of teamwork, organization, responsibility, and commitment to our school and community.

For more information about Vet Tech Club please contact:
Sharon Poitevint at 229-227-3174 or spoitevint@southernregional.edu.

Roentgen Ray Society
The Roentgen Ray Society is an organization for Radiologic Technology students. The purpose of this organization is to promote involvement in activities intended to foster, support, and encourage the development of professional attributes and affiliations among the students of the Radiologic Technology program.

For more information about Roentgen Ray Society (Moultrie Campus) please contact:
Buffie Spencer at 229-891-7030 or bspencer@southernregional.edu
Tony Turpin (Thomasville Campus) at 229-225-3957 or tturpin@southernregional.edu.


GOAL Program

The Georgia Occupational Award of Leadership (GOAL) program was established in 1971 to recognize and reward excellence among students studying at Georgia’s technical colleges. GOAL is an outstanding example of education joining hands with business and industry. Each year, instructors nominate students to represent their program in the annual competition. The College winner competes for the honor of representing the Technical College System of Georgia during the next year. The GOAL program is the first program of its kind in the nation to honor excellence among technical students at the postsecondary level.


For more information about GOAL contact:
Lisa Newton at 229-217-4132 or lnewton@southernregional.edu

Eagle Program

The Exceptional Adult Georgian in Literacy Education (EAGLE) Program was launched in 1993 to recognize and honor adult learners that have demonstrated exceptional achievement in adult literacy classes. EAGLE is designed to create a greater awareness of educational opportunities that are available in local communities across the state and to encourage involvement in lifelong learning pursuits.

Each year, adult education teachers identify their most outstanding students and nominate them for the EAGLE competition. To be eligible for consideration, students must meet certain criteria that includes: leadership skills, community involvement, and academic progress. One student is selected to represent each College through the use of local competitions. This student is designated as the College’s EAGLE Delegate and will compete at the regional level. Two delegates will be selected from each of the four regional competitions to compete during the State EAGLE Leadership Institute. The winner of this competition will be designated as the State EAGLE Winner. EAGLE delegates serve as ambassadors and promote literacy education in Georgia.

For more information about Eagle, contact:
Melissa Burtle at 229-217-4210 or mburtle@southernregional.edu

Student Life Contact:
Asha Dillard
Student Life Director
Student Affairs
Thomasville
O: (229) 227-3076
adillard@southernregional.edu