SRTC and the Technical College System of Georgia Make College More Accessible By Offering Free Tuition

Posted on

Originally presented by the Governor’s Office in Fall 2013, the Strategic Industries Workforce Development Grant (SIWDG) has been continually expanded since its inception. The Governor’s Office, along with the Georgia Student Finance Commission and legislators have worked diligently to determine what programs are vital for Georgia’s strategic economic growth.

So what does that mean for local students? Well, to start, qualified, eligible students (Georgia residents who qualify for the HOPE Grant and are in diploma or certificate programs identified by the SIWDG, and meet other basic eligibility criteria) will pay no tuition for their respective programs. Money given by the SIWDG does not have to be repaid.

To be eligible for the Strategic Industries grant, students must first qualify for and be receiving the Hope Grant. The two grants together will cover all tuition in these nine programs of study. Students will still be responsible for student fees and any equipment necessary, although in some cases, financial aid is available for those as well.

A few other things to know about the Strategic Industries grant:

  • SIWDG awards are based on the student’s program of study and the number of hours of enrollment.
  • The grant is available only for eligible students who are pursuing certificates and diplomas.
  • High school students participating in dual credit enrollment are not eligible for the SIWDG award until they graduate.

Southern Regional Technical College (SRTC) offers many programs under the SIWDG umbrella: Commercial Truck Driving, Computer Information Systems, Early Childhood Care and Education, Health Sciences, Industrial Maintenance, Practical Nursing, Precision Manufacturing, and Welding & Joining Technology.

SRTC offers over 155 degree, diploma, and certificate programs that are designed to get you quickly into your desired career, and 27 general education courses that transfer to the University System of Georgia institutions and 19 private colleges and universities in Georgia. SRTC has instructional sites located in Ashburn, Cairo, Camilla, Moultrie, Thomasville, Tifton, and Sylvester for the convenience of our students. The College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC). SACSCOC is the regional body for the accreditation of degree-granting higher education institutions in the Southern states. For the most up-to-date information on registration, class dates, and program offerings, log on to or call (888) 205-3449.