SRTC Honors Top Students and Faculty at Awards Ceremony

Posted on

SRTC President and T. Jones

SRTC President Dr. Craig Wentworth with Tino Jones

SRTC President and A. Semones

SRTC President Dr. Craig Wentworth with Andy Semones

SRTC President and L. Giddens

SRTC President Dr. Craig Wentworth with Lauren Giddens

Moultrie, GA – Southern Regional Technical College (SRTC) honored its finalists and the respective institutional winners of the 2015 Georgia Occupational Award of Leadership (GOAL), the Exceptional Adult Georgian in Literacy Education (EAGLE), and the Rick Perkins Award for Excellence in Technical Education on January 28 at the Southwest Georgia Bank Conference Center in Moultrie, GA.

"The awards luncheon was a great celebration and recognition of our college's ‘Best of the Best.’ We are very proud of the nominees, finalists, and winners of the SRTC Adult Education EAGLE Student of the Year, GOAL Student of the Year (credit program), and Rick Perkins Award of Excellence Instructor of the Year Awards. These students and faculty are to be applauded and commended for their academic and teaching endeavors as well as their contributions to the college and community. We wish each of them the best of luck as they move forward to compete in their respective categories at the regional and state levels," commented Dr. Craig Wentworth, President of SRTC

The three awards represent excellence in their respective areas of technical and adult education. GOAL competition begins during the Fall semester, when technical college instructors across Georgia identify their most promising students and nominate them for GOAL based on academic achievement and personal leadership. This year’s winner was Lauren Giddens of Valdosta who is enrolled in the Associate of Science in Nursing program. The other three finalists were Lizzie Hawkins (Early Childhood Care and Education), John Siddell (Automotive Technology), and Donna Wilson (Criminal Justice Technology).

For the fifth consecutive year SRTC-Tifton will host the regional GOAL competition on March 8th. Winners representing Albany Tech, Altamaha Tech, Bainbridge College’s technical division, Moultrie Tech, Okefenokee Tech, Savannah Tech, South Georgia Tech, Southwest Georgia Tech, and Wiregrass Georgia Tech will compete for three available state finalist positions from within the region.

A statewide winner will be selected at the state GOAL competition in Atlanta in April and will travel the state for a full year on behalf of Georgia’s Technical College System. Georgia based automaker Kia will donate a 2016 vehicle to the state’s winner.

The EAGLE Program celebrates adult learners in pursuit of excellence. The program recognizes and honors students who have demonstrated exceptional achievement in statewide adult education classes. Adult Education teachers in public, private, and grantee agencies nominate students at the local program level to participate in the EAGLE recognition program at the state level. Selection criteria include student character, attitude, attendance, leadership and community involvement and activities.

Every EAGLE delegate is considered an ambassador and spokesperson for literacy serving local communities and the state by promoting lifelong learning. This year’s winner, Valentino (Tino) Jones of Thomasville will represent the local program at the state EAGLE Leadership Institute in Atlanta. The other awards finalists were Jessica Harmon, Lindsey Edmondson, Alexis Jordan, and Lisandra Perez Rojas.

The Rick Perkins Award for Excellence in Technical Instruction honors the Technical College System of Georgia’s most outstanding instructors. The award has been an ongoing statewide event since 1991 and is designed to recognize technical college instructors who make significant contributions to technical education through innovation and leadership in their respective fields. Formerly known as the Commissioner’s Award of Excellence, the award was renamed in honor and memory of Thomas “Rick” Perkins, an instructor at West Central Technical College, who received the Commissioner’s Award of Excellence prior to his untimely passing. The Technical College System of Georgia provides oversight for the Rick Perkins Award program through the system’s office, the college presidents’ Academic Affairs Committee, and the state planning committee. The winner of this year’s award is SRTC Adult Education Instructor Andy Semones. Mr. Semones teaches full-time at SRTC’s Grady County location. Other finalists for this award were Mrs. Tammy Bryant (Associate of Science in Nursing Program Director, Thomasville) and Tara Rakestraw (Criminal Justice Technology Program Chair, Moultrie).

SRTC offers over 155 degree, diploma, and certificate programs that are designed to get you quickly into your desired career, and 27 general education courses that transfer to the University System of Georgia institutions and 19 private colleges and universities in Georgia. SRTC has instructional sites located in Ashburn, Cairo, Camilla, Moultrie, Thomasville, Tifton, and Sylvester for the convenience of our students. The College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC). SACSCOC is the regional body for the accreditation of degree-granting higher education institutions in the Southern states. For the most up-to-date information on registration, class dates, and program offerings, log on to or call (888) 205 – 3449.

Summer Semester 2016 Begins May 17th. Don’t wait, enroll today!