SRTC-Tifton Inducts New Members into National Technical Honor Society

Posted on

The Tifton chapter of the National Technical Honor Society (NTHS) at Southern Regional Technical College (SRTC) recently inducted 12 new members into the organization. The 2019 Fall NTHS inductees are Macy Martin of Sylvester, Mercedes Curles of Adel, Sara Muterspaugh of Tifton, Anna West of Tifton, Hannah Roberts of Nashville, Charles Conger of Chula, Michael Golden of Omega, Felicia Richardson of Tifton, Beverly Suggs of Moultrie, Kimberly Lovett of Thomasville, Nicholas Craig of Tifton, and Emily Walker of Tifton.

The qualifications for membership in NTHS are as follows: the student must have completed one full semester in attendance at SRTC and must have satisfactorily completed a minimum of 6 credit hours of course work. Student must be enrolled in Spring and Fall semester with a minimum of 6 credit hours. Additionally, students must have a minimum of one semester remaining at SRTC. The student must have a GPA of 3.0 for the semester in which he or she is nominated and a cumulative GPA of 3.0. All program requirements must also be met for the semester in which he/she is nominated. To maintain eligibility for membership, the student must maintain a cumulative GPA of 3.0.

Supportive friends and family members surrounded the inductees as they were pinned and received their certificates on stage at SRTC – Tifton’s Conference Center. President Jim Glass spoke to the gathered crowd and commended the students for being invited to join the elite student organization. “I am proud of each and every one of you,” Mr. Glass said, as he addressed the students. “Your dedication to your studies is evident by the high grades you have earned, and will no doubt continue to earn during your time here. I challenge you to continue your exemplary work ethic as you move forward into your careers.”

As a national organization, NTHS has as its purpose: to promote the ideals of honesty, service, leadership, career development, and skilled workmanship; to reward meritorious achievement in technical education; to encourage and assist technical students in their pursuit of educational and career goals; to develop a greater awareness within the American business, industry, and service communities about the talents and abilities of students engaged in technical education; and to provide technical students with a greater awareness of the world of work.

Benefits of membership in NTHS include a diploma or certificate seal indicating membership, three letters of recommendation sent upon request to any business, industry, or educational institution where member applies, and an excellent resume entry denoting leadership and participation in a student organization.

SRTC offers over 155 degree, diploma, and certificate programs that are designed to get students quickly into a desired career, and 28 general education courses that transfer to the University System of Georgia institutions and 19 private colleges and universities in Georgia. SRTC has instructional sites located in Colquitt, Decatur, Early, Grady, Miller, Mitchell, Seminole, Thomas, Tift, Turner and Worth counties for the convenience of its students. The College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC). SACSCOC is the regional body for the accreditation of degree-granting higher education institutions in the Southern states. For the most up-to-date information on registration, class dates, and program offerings, log on to

Spring semester begins January 7. Don’t wait, enroll today!