Thomasville Nursing Students Honored in Pinning Ceremony at SRTC

Posted on

On December 13th, Southern Regional Technical College (SRTC) held a pinning ceremony for 25 Associate of Science in Nursing (ASN) students from the LPN to RN Bridge program and the Generic ASN program. The ceremony commemorates the students’ successful completion of their nursing coursework and clinical rotations. This class of nursing students also participated in SRTC’s formal graduation ceremony and will officially be Registered Nurses (RN) pending the passage of their board exams.

In this pinning ceremony, which symbolizes the rite of passage into the nursing profession, each student received a pin and lights a small lamp. The pin is used to remind students of their purpose to serve the sick and infirmed. The lighting portion of the ceremony serves as a tribute to Florence Nightingale, the founder of modern-day nursing. In the 1800s Nightingale was known as the "lady with the lamp," tending to the sick while carrying a lamp to light the way. At the ceremony, students also recite the Nightingale pledge stating their dedication to upholding the standards of being a nurse.

“It is my honor once again to pin an ASN class. Pinning is always a special day for our nursing graduates as it represents their first commitment to the profession. The high standards this group holds for their profession were demonstrated as they recited the Florence Nightingale Pledge during the ceremony. Our students will tell you this is an intense program and the rewards outweigh the sacrifice, especially as it relates to job preparation. These graduates further iterate SRTC’s mission of providing skilled workers to meet the demand of an ever growing workforce and continue to fill a statewide void with qualified personnel,” commented Tammy Bryant, RN, MSN, SRTC ASN Program Director.

This pinning had student representatives from the generic Associate of Science in Nursing program and the LPN to RN bridge program. The students who received pins were: Zoey Arrington, Peggy Bartee, Megan Brock, Lakyn Davis, LaSandra Davis, Harley Grimm, Hannah Hart, Mary Herzog, Megan Hornsby, Amanda Howell, Kaitlin McDaniel, Marcie Merwin, Rebecca Mims, Shannon Moran, Shiela Moser, Jaime Nesemeier, Rosalia Palomo Rodriguez, Rachel Parker, Elizabeth Piazza, Jennifer Pope, Alison Powell, Jennifer Reynolds, Denver Spivey, Satchuell Terrell, and Jessica Thompson.

Of these graduates, eight were recognized for their exemplary achievements at SRTC. Alison Powell and Megan Brock each received the Clinical Excellence Award. Jaime Nesemeier and Lakyn Davis were recognized with the Leadership Award. Shiela Moser and Peggy Bartee each earned the Nightingale Award. Hannah Hart and Elizabeth Piazza earned the Highest Exit Exam Awards.
Additionally, nine students had already taken the Georgia State Board Exam and passed. These students are Shiela Moser, Rosalia Palomo Rodriguez, Jaime Nesemeier, Zoey Arrington, Harley Grimm, Denver Spivey, Jennifer Reynolds, Hannah hart, and Amanda Howell.

Among the honorees were five SRTC Foundation scholarship recipients. Scholarship awards are merit-based upon a strict criterion which includes overall academic grade point average, personal and professional recommendations, an essay review, and more. Foundation scholarships can be utilized for any school-related expense incurred by students, including but not limited to: travel expenses for clinical visits, professional licensing fees, program materials, tuition, fees, books, and more.

The Associate of Science in Nursing (ASN) program is designed to prepare students as entry-level practitioners to provide safe, effective nursing care and promote healthy transitions for diverse clients in a variety of settings. This program develops critical thinking, integrates accumulated knowledge from nursing, the sciences and humanities, and emphasizes the values of caring, accountability, responsibility and professional ethics. The SRTC ASN program has been granted approval by the Georgia Board of Nursing and is accredited by the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing (ACEN).