SRTC-Thomasville Inducts New Members into National Technical Honor Society

Posted on

Pictured L to R: Emory Dean, Jordan Baugham, Laura Maxwell, Shamiel Vanterpool, Brittany Watts, Garrett Thaggard, Kristin Morris, Madeline Chance, Andrian Nicole Brooks, Shanice Kelley, and Anthony DeLaTorre. Not pictured: Franchescia Whitaker.

Earlier this month, the Thomasville chapter of the National Technical Honor Society (NTHS) at Southern Regional Technical College (SRTC) inducted 12 new members into the organization. The 2019 Fall NTHS inductees are: Jordan Baugham of Thomasville, Andrian Nicole Brooks of Thomasville, Madeline Chance of Albany, Emory Dean of Thomasville, Anthony DeLaTorre of Thomasville, Shanice Kelley of Cairo, Laura Maxwell of Cairo, Kristin Morris of Valdosta, Garrett Thaggard of Thomasville, Brittany Watts of Thomasville, Franchescia Whitaker of Thomasville, and Shamiel Vanterpool of Thomasville.

These students represent many of SRTC’s prestigious programs including: Business Management, Crime Scene Investigation, Cyber Security, Early Childhood Care and Education, Land, Forest, Wildlife Management, Practical Nursing, Radiologic Technology, Social Work, and Veterinary Technology.

As a national organization, NTHS has as its purpose: to promote the ideals of honesty, service, leadership, career development, and skilled workmanship; to reward meritorious achievement in technical education; to encourage and assist technical students in their pursuit of educational and career goals; to develop a greater awareness within the American business, industry, and service communities about the talents and abilities of students engaged in technical education; and to provide technical students with a greater awareness of the world of work.

“As new advisors, we couldn't be prouder to be a part of this impressive group of scholars and leaders. These students have worked together as a team to achieve goals in leadership and service, all while maintaining exemplary academic standing, with many already working in their fields and raising families. We can’t wait to see what they accomplish next,” commented SRTC Instructor and NTHS advisor Mosisah Mavity during the induction ceremony.

The qualifications for membership in NTHS are as follows: the student must have completed one full semester in attendance at SRTC and must have satisfactorily completed a minimum of 6 credit hours of course work. Student must be enrolled in Spring and Fall semester with a minimum of 6 credit hours. Additionally, students must have a minimum of one semester remaining at SRTC.

Benefits of membership in NTHS include a diploma or certificate seal indicating membership, three letters of recommendation sent upon request to any business, industry, or educational institution where member applies, and an excellent resume entry denoting leadership and participation in a student organization. The student must have a GPA of 3.0 for the semester in which he/she is nominated and a cumulative GPA of 3.0. All program requirements must also be met for the semester in which he/she is nominated. To maintain eligibility for membership, the student must maintain a cumulative GPA of 3.0.