SRTC - Tifton Honors Surgical Technology Grads

Posted on

Southern Regional Technical College’s (SRTC) Surgical Technology program in Thomasville held a pinning ceremony Monday, August 3, marking the program completion of eight students. The students and their instructor met in a classroom for the pinning, which was broadcast via WebEx to family and friends. Tiana Lynez Gartmen of Tifton, Charlette Danielle Hudson of Ashburn, Shanna Marie Martin of Tifton, Courtney Skye McKee of Tifton, Lania Marissa Newton of Ocilla, Megan Lynn Warren of Valdosta, and Nicole Maria Wheeler of Ashburn were honored for their achievements. In addition to the customary pin, instructors gave each student a charm bracelet representing their strength and determination, and a pearl symbolizing their wisdom.

Rhonda Price, SRTC Surgical Technology Instructor, commented, “These graduates should hold their heads high, because they completed the program during a very difficult time. Through everything, they worked hard to finish strong. I wish them all the best as they journey out into the workforce with all the skills and training they have acquired.”

The Surgical Technology Degree program prepares students for employment in a variety of positions in the surgical field. The program provides learning opportunities, which introduce, develop, and reinforce academic and technical knowledge, skills, and attitudes required for job acquisition, retention, and advancement. Additionally, the program provides opportunities to upgrade present knowledge and skills or to retrain in Surgical Technology. Graduates of the program receive a Surgical Technology degree and are qualified for employment as surgical technologists.

SRTC offers over 155 degree, diploma, and certificate programs that are designed to get you quickly into your desired career, and 28 general education courses that transfer to the University System of Georgia institutions and 19 private colleges and universities in Georgia. SRTC has instructional sites located in Colquitt, Decatur, Early, Grady, Miller, Mitchell, Seminole, Thomas, Tift, Turner, and Worth counties for the convenience of our students. The College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC). SACSCOC is the regional body for the accreditation of degree-granting higher education institutions in the Southern states. For the most up-to-date information on registration, class dates, and program offerings, log on to

Fall semester 2020 begins August 18. Don’t wait, enroll today!